17 September 2014

Football - Div I - Rabat Ajax Close to promotion

 - Sunday, 22 April 2012, 00:00

Rabat A. 1

Zejtun C. 0

Rabat Ajax defeated ten-man Zejtun in front of a bumper crowd yesterday at Hamrun, to move closer to promotion to the elite of maltese football after an eleven-year wait.

Rabat were the better team and obtained the winner on 53 minutes when Joseph Caruana did all the running before passing towards Adam Smeir who shot low past ranier Farrugia from close range.

Zejtun had Jean Claude Galea sent off on 41 minutes for a foul on David Azzopardi.

Rabat A – S. Mintoff, C. Schembri, J. Cornforth, J. Caruana, A. Smeir (J. Felice), C. Muscat, V. Caushi, Y. Cauchi, R. Micallef (A. Rustemi), D. Azzopardi, C. Gauci (D. Falzon).

Zejtun C – R. Farrugia, C. Magro, E. Azzopardi, M. Borg, N. Filipov, J.C. Galea, S. Magro, W. Elzaredi (J. Abela)(V. Camilleri), R. Cauchi, G. Delia (C. Formosa), K. Abela.

Referee – Chris Lautier

St Andrew’s 0

St George’s 1

St. George’s kept their slim hopes alive when they beat St. Andrew’s in a low profile match. The all important goal was scored by Dylan Zarb half way through the second half.

After six minutes Grima went close with a low drive that was well saved by the St George’s goalkeeper. Near the end of the first half St George’s went close with a Dylan Zarb shot sailing over the bar, and a Rocha Dos Santos grounder missing the base of the upright.

On the resumption Jonathan Ruiz had a low shot saved by Balzan and on 63 minutes St George’s scored what proved to be the winner. A Grech corner was headed by Rocha Dos Santos towards Dylan Zarb who headed home from close range.

St Andrew’s made an immediate reaction with an Alhinho freekick well saved by Galea. The same Galea was again on hand to save a Desira Buttigieg scorcher.

St. George’s missed a couple of chances on their fast breaks with shots from Gary Inguanez and Daniel Zahra well saved by Balzan. In the dying minutes the St. George’s goalkeeper made the final decisive save when he blocked a close range effort from Brian Said.

St. Andrew’s – D. Balzan, J. Bugeja, B. Said, F. Alkanua, M. Hyzler, A. Amato, W. Camilleri, M. Calleja (R. Previ), A. Nakuaa, V. Alinho (M. Desira Buttigieg), M. Grima.

St. George’s – T. Galea, D. Zahra, L. Rocha Dos Santos, E. Sevasta, A. Abela, G. Inguanez, R. Boutahir, D. Zarb, E. Amaira, K. Grech (A. Mercieca), J. Ruiz.

Referee – Philip Farrugia

post the first comment FOR THIS ARTICLE!

Post Comment

Post Comment