The Malta Independent 22 January 2019, Tuesday

BOV Div I: Zejtun back to winning ways with Castano hat-trick as Qormi regain sole leadership

Sunday, 14 January 2018, 20:35 Last update: about 2 years ago
Qrendi 0
Zejtun C 3
Zejtun Corinthians returned to winning ways yesterday after their dismal performance against Pieta, easily disposing of Qrendi with Colombian striker Johan Alberto Castano in brilliant form scoring all Zejtun’s goals.
In his second appearance for his side, Castano was outsatanding, and apart from the three goals scored he was a constant headache to the Qrendi rearguard.
Zejtun also fielded other new signings in the likes of Ryan Dalli and ex-Rabat captain Adam Smeir, as Zejtun look still determined to have their say in the promotion race as they try to reduce the gap with the front runners.
It was a deserved victory yesterday for Zejtun against the in-form Qrendi side, who had in Santos Da Hora as their best player, but the Brazilian striker failed to leave his mark yesterday.
Zejtun constantly held the upper hand with Castano going close after twenty minutes play with a header going wide.
But on 29 minutes Zejtun broke the deadlock when the Colombian striker scored a well taken goal after a pass from Adam Smeir.
Qrendi had a good reaction with Da Hora going close on a couple of occassions but the Zejtun defence held its ground.
On 71 minutes Zejtun doubled the score when they won a rather dubious penalty, and from the spot Castano’s effort was saved by the goalkeeper but Castano made no mistake from the rebound.
The game was now decided with Qrendi resigned to their fate and on 81 minutes Castano obtained his hattrick with a header following a freekick.
Qrendi: J. Azzopardi, D. Martini, P. Mrvic, L. Scorfna, T. D’Amato, E. Amaira, M. Barbara, A. Agius, D. Sammut, K. Abela, D. Santos Da Hora
Żejtun C: J. Tabone, D. Albanese, Y. Camilleri, C. Giordemaina, E. Vella, N. Tabone, J. Castro, B. Farrugia, O. El Hussieny, A. Smeir, R. Dalli
Referee: Darryl Agius

Qormi beat Marsa to regain sole leadership

Qormi 2
Marsa 1

Qormi beat Marsa to return to winning ways and regain sole leadership after losing it to Pieta two days ago.
It was a hard earned victory for the yellows against an ever improving Marsa side.
Qormi had the better chances in the first half even hitting the upper part of the crossbar.
On 65 minutes Qormi broke the deadlock when Chris Matombo headed home from close range an Alessio Cassar cross rom the right.
Marsa however wer determined not to leave the pitch empty handed and on 81 minutes drew level with a Marko Platisa header following a freekick from the left.
But Marsa’s joy was shortlived as two minutes later Qormi scored what proved to be the winner when Michael Camilleri headed home, with the same player going close again on 86 minutes when his corner kick hit the upright.
Qormi: J. Azzopardi, J. Caetano Da Silva, Y. Yankam, C. Matombo, M. Camilleri, L. Adamec, A. Abela, A. Cassar, D. Vukovic, I. Zammit, B. Grech
Marsa: S. Micallef, E. Grech, N. Micallef, A. Caruana, V. Stanic, M. Camilleri, J. Farrugia, R. De Fex Marriaga, M. Platisa, M. Gauci, E. Bonello
Referee: Stefan Pace

Zebbug end Mqabba’s winning streak

Zebbug R 2
Mqabba 0

Mqabba’s seven-match winning streak came to an ubrupt end yesterday when they were defeated with two second half goals by Zebbug Rangers.
Winston Muscat’s side deservedly took the three points at stake to move to fourth in the standings, only four points behind the same Mqabba. Mqabba were rather disappointing yesterday, always on the receiving end, and never giving the impression they could create danger upfront.
Zebbug enjoyed the lions share of exchanges in the first forty minutes with Mqabba playing the waiting game. But Zebbug’s territorial superiority was never transformed in scoring opportunities as the Mqabba custodian was practically never called in action.
On the other hand in one of Mqabba’s rare sortie they were rather unlucky not to forge ahead when a Karl Cutajar header was cleared off the goal line by a Zebbug defender.
Eight minutes into the second half Zebbug took the lead when from a corner action, ex-Mqabba defender Mauro Bonnici headed home from close range. 
Mqabba made a timid reaction with the Zebbug rearguard however never under treath. On 65 minutes Zebbug doubled the score when following a melee in front of goal, Mqabba midfielder Karl Cutajar was unlucky to put at the back of his own net.
The match had little or nothing to offer in the remaining minutes as Zebbug easily kept their two gowl cushion to0 grab the three points at stake and end Mqabba’s winning streak.
Żebbuġ R: J. Farrugia, G. Camilleri, S. Schembri, M. Bonnici, G. Gusman, R. Da Silva Gomes, C. Gauci, K. Zammit, L. Mallia, R. Micallef, A. Kovacic  
Mqabba: J. Debono, N. Ojoula, M. Borg, G. Gesualdi, B. Muscat, K. Cutajar, P. Chimezie, R. Mandic, L. Vella Critien, L. Micallef, M. Ciantar
Referee: Darko Stankovic

Vittoriosa return to winning ways

Vittoriosa S 3
San Gwann  2

Vittoriosa returned to winning ways beating San Gwann by the odd goal in five to keep firmly in fourth place in the standings.
Vittoriosa took an immediate lead when after four minutes play Ounuppe converted from the penalty spot.
San Gwann tried to hit back as they created several scoring chances and with Godwin Henshaw in good form.
It was no surprise that the same player obtained the equaliser on the half hour following a Kyle Gatt cross.
Two minutes from the break Vittoriosa were back in front when Liam Gauci scored direct from the corner flag.
On the resumption San Gwann had a goal disallowed and on 55 minutes Magri saved a Gatt freekick.
On 68 minutes Vittoriosa increased their lead in a fast break with Ogunuppe anticiapating the San Gwann goalkeeper and putting at the back of the net.
Eleven minutes from time San Gwann were back in business when Godwin henshaw obtained his brace heading in from close range.
San Gwann tried to save the match in the remaining minutes but Vittoriosa held on to their slender lead.
Vittoriosa S: K. Magri, J. Pace, C. Spiteri, J. Ogunnupe, A. Farrugia, D. Fava, E. Mbong, D. tabone, G. Sultana, F. Arriagada Mella, L. Gauci
San Gwann: A. Camilleri, R. Zammit, N. Abouhaisa, A. Borg, A. Abela, A. Cachia, S. Ogundare, T. Lopes De Sousa, G. Henshaw, K. Gatt, C. Gauci
Referee: Ishmael Barbara
  • don't miss