The Malta Independent 18 March 2019, Monday

MotoGP: Lorenzo wins Catalonia GP ahead of Marquez

Sunday, 17 June 2018, 16:34 Last update: about 10 months ago

Jorge Lorenzo won the Catalonia Grand Prix after starting from pole position ahead of MotoGP points leader Marc Marquez on Sunday.

Marquez crossed second followed by Valentino Rossi at the Barcelona-Catalonia Circuit.

It was the Spaniard's second straight victory after the Italian GP two weeks ago. Those are his only two victories since joining Ducati in 2017.

Lorenzo announced last week that would leave Ducati at the end of the season and join Honda next year, forming a formidable pairing with Marquez.


It was the three-time former champion's 46th career win in the top category.


2018 Catalunya MotoGP - Race Results

  1. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (GP18) 40m 13.566s
  2. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 40m 18.045s
  3. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 40m 19.664s
  4. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 40m 23.371s
  5. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda (RC213V) 40m 24.206s
  6. Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha (YZR-M1) 40m 24.364s
  7. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1) 40m 26.998s
  8. Danilo Petrucci ITA Pramac Ducati (GP18) 40m 28.621s
  9. Alvaro Bautista ESP Angel Nieto Team (GP17) 40m 35.623s
  10. Andrea Iannone ITA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 40m 37.707s
  11. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) 40m 50.126s
  12. Scott Redding GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 40m 51.795s
  13. Karel Abraham CZE Angel Nieto Team (GP16) 41m 35.092s
  14. Franco Morbidelli ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* +3 laps 
    Hafizh Syahrin MAL Monster Yamaha Tech3 (YZR-M1)* DNF 
    Tito Rabat ESP Reale Avintia (GP17) DNF 
    Jack Miller AUS Pramac Ducati (GP17) DNF 
    Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) DNF 
    Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V)* DNF 
    Alex Rins ESP Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) DNF 
    Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP18) DNF 
    Xavier Simeon ESP Reale Avintia (GP16)* DNF 
    Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) DNF 
    Thomas Luthi SWI EG 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)* DNF 
    Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) DNF 
    Mika Kallio FIN Red Bull KTM Factory (RC16) DNF
  • don't miss