The Malta Independent 19 March 2019, Tuesday

Three candidates nominated for post of judge on the European Court of Human Rights

Thursday, 21 February 2019, 20:00 Last update: about 24 days ago

The government has nominated three candidates on the European Court of Human Rights. They are; lawyer Victoria Buttigieg, Madame Justice Abigail Lofaro and Madam Justice Lorraine Schembri Orland.

The successful nominee will replace Mr Justice Vincent De Gaetano, whose term at the ECHR expires in September.

The candidates were selected after a public call.

The nominee that attains the largest absolute majority, as voted by the members of the Parliamentary Assembly of the European Council is declared elected as the Maltese Judge in the ECHR.


The results of the election will be made public by the President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe.

The Government thanked Judge Vincent De Gaetano for his service and work in the ECHR, in Strasbourg
  • don't miss