The Malta Independent 23 February 2020, Sunday

Twelve members appointed to the National Order Of Merit, including Tony Zarb

Sunday, 13 December 2015, 15:34 Last update: about 5 years ago

On Republic Day each year, the President, on behalf of the Government and the people of Malta, pays public tribute to a number of Maltese citizens who distinguish themselves in different fields of endeavours.

This years Investiture Ceremony again took place at The Palace, Valletta, on Sunday 13 December 2015, immediately following the customary Ceremonial Parade held at the Palace Square.

During the Ceremony, twelve members were appointed to The National Order of Merit, two of whom received the award on an honorary basis. One person was awarded the Midalja għall-Qlubija and eleven other individuals and groups were awarded the Midalja għall-Qadi tar-Repubblika.  Two of the latter were awarded posthumously, one of whom was awarded on an honorary basis.

Among those who were made members of the Order of Merit is former General Workers Union Secretary General Tony Zarb.

Some of the other members are Mr Kyle Balda, Mr Benny Borg Bonello, Prof Roger Ellul Micallef, Prof Hector Galea, Prof Peter Vassallo and Mr Pierfrancesco Vago.

Karl Curmi, the ten-year-old boy who rescued a baby from drowning in Marsalforn, was given the Midalja għall-Qlubija.

Among those to receive the Midalji għall-Qadi tar-Repubblika are Bjorn Formosa, the man who fought to raise awareness for ALS and also suffers from it, and the Migrant Offshore Aid Station (MOAS).

 The medal was also given to Mr Charles Coleiro, Vitorin Galea, Michael Grech, Ms Joyce Guillaumier, Mr Charles N Mifsud, Dr Mario Scerri, Mr Alfred Zarb and the Winning team of the junior eurovision 2015

  • don't miss