The Malta Independent 3 March 2024, Sunday
View E-Paper

EP election: Miriam Dalli gets record score for Labour

Monday, 27 May 2019, 09:18 Last update: about 6 years ago

Miriam Dalli was elected for the second consecutive time, but this time she has more to be proud of.

Dalli obtained a staggering 63,438 votes, nearly trebling her 23,479 result five years ago, and establishing a new record for Labour candidates.

The previous record was held by Alfred Sant, who in 2014 picked up 48,739 first preferences.

Dalli’s tally is however smaller than the overall record obtained in 2009 by PN candidate Simon Busuttil - 68,782 first count votes.

Sant was not elected in the first count this time, having garnered 26,592 first preferences, but then picked up most of Dalli’s second preferences and went on the be elected on the 14th count.

Alex Agius Saliba and Josianne Cutajar, the other two Labour MEPs, were elected without a quota on 35,823 and 32,235 respectively, which is more or less the margin they started off with - 18,808 number ones for Agius Saliba and 15,603 for Cutajar.

The other Labour candidates obtained the following number of votes:

Cyrus Engerer 5,394, James Grech 2,530, Josef Caruana 2,308, Joseph Sammut 1,747, Felix Busuttil 1,189, Noel Cassar 1,182, Lorna Vassallo 729, Mary Gauci 713, Robert Micallef 595 and Fleur Anne Vella 439.

  • don't miss