The Malta Independent 3 June 2020, Wednesday

EP election: No new faces for PN, as Metsola and Casa retain their seat

Monday, 27 May 2019, 09:34 Last update: about 2 years ago

There are no new faces for the Nationalist Party in the European Parliament, as incumbents Roberta Metsola and David Casa both retain their seat in Brussels, obtaining better results than they did four years ago in terms of first count votes.

Metsola picked up 38,206 first preferences, up from 32,360, and was elected in the first count. In 2014, she was elected on the 16th count.


Casa only scored slightly better than five years ago, and remains the only Maltese MEP to have had a seat in the EP since the first ever election in 2004. This time, he obtained 20,493 votes, slightly up from the 19,582 preferences in 2014. He was elected on the 38th count this time, compared to the 25th in 2014.

Veteran politician Francis Zammit Dimech lost the place he had in Brussels, finishing fifth in the PN rankings with 5,782 votes.

He was preceded in third place by Frank Psaila with 13,268 votes and Peter Agius in fourth with 10,474 first preferences.

The other PN candidates fared as follows:

David Stellini 3,615, Michael Briguglio 3,134, Roselyn Borg 2,155, Dione Borg 1,176 and Michael Mercieca 308.

  • don't miss