The Malta Independent 22 July 2019, Monday

Nomination period for PN’s three vacated roles closes on Tuesday

Monday, 24 June 2019, 11:22 Last update: about 28 days ago

The Nationalist Party is receiving nominations for the three roles recently vacated by Mark Anthony Sammut, David Stellini and David Camilleri.

Stellini resigned his Parliamentary seat as well as his role as President of the PN’s Administrative Council in May, paving the way for a co-option. Jean Pierre Debono was chosen to replace Stellini but renounced his co-option after allegations that the vote had been rigged.


The controversy led to the resignation of Mark Anthony Sammut from the post of president of the Executive Committee. Sammut had called on the entire leadership to resign in the wake of the PN’s huge electoral defeat.

David Camilleri resigned as party treasurer after it emerged that he should not have been given a vote in the co-option process.

Gozitan lawyer Kevin Cutajar was elected to Parliament in a second process in which he was the only contender.

The period to submit nominations opened on Wednesday 19 June and closes on Tuesday 25 June at noon.  

  • don't miss