The Malta Independent 3 June 2020, Wednesday

No Minister appointed from Second Electoral District, Labour’s stronghold

Thursday, 16 January 2020, 08:46 Last update: about 6 months ago

For the first time ever, no minister in a Labour government comes from the Second Electoral district, historically considered to be Labour’s major stronghold.

The four candidates who were elected from the second district in the 2017 election were Joseph Muscat, Joe Mizzi, Helena Dalli and Chris Agius.

Only Agius has been given a position, but that of a parliamentary secretary for lands and construction, the one he had been appointed to by Muscat.


The former prime minister is now a backbencher together with Joe Mizzi, who was formerly Energy Minister but who was not given a role by new PM Robert Abela.

Helena Dalli resigned last year after she was nominated, and later appointed, as Malta’s representative on the European Commission.

This leaves the Labour government without a minister directly elected from the second district, the first time in history.

In Abela’s Cabinet, there are two ministers who contested in the second district, but were not elected from there. They are Byron Camilleri, the newly-appointed Home Minister, who was elected from the fourth district, and Carmelo Abela, who was named as a Minister without portfolio in the OPM, and who was elected from the third district.

Other MPs elected from the second district are Deo Debattista, who is PS for consumer protection (but who was elected directly from the first district), and Glenn Bedingfield, who took the seat vacated by Dalli (she had ceded that seat after being elected from two districts). Bedingfield remains a backbencher.


  • don't miss