The Malta Independent 12 July 2024, Friday
View E-Paper

Russian government restricts access to four Maltese news sites from its territory

Tuesday, 25 June 2024, 14:00 Last update: about 16 days ago

The Russian government has introduced restrictions for its residents when it comes to accessing 81 news websites across the European Union, including four which are in Malta.

Russia's Foreign Affairs Ministry said on its website that as a response to the decision taken by the EU Council on May 17 to ban any broadcast activity on three Russian media (RIA Novosti, Izvestia and Rossiyskaya Gazeta), which comes into force today, June 25, counter restrictions are being introduced with regards to access from the territory of the Russian Federation to the broadcast resources of a number of EU member state media outlets.

The four Maltese news sites affected are The Malta Independent, TVM, the Times of Malta and MaltaToday




  • don't miss