25th April 2018

Dear Hon. Prime Minister Dr Joseph Muscat Dear Hon. Dr Owen Bonnici, Minister for Justice, Culture and Local Government Dear Hon. Dr Deo Debattista, Parliamentary Secretary for Consumer Protection and Valletta 2018

We, artists, authors and arts managers write to you to express our concern that the legacy of Valletta 2018 as European Capital of Culture is seriously jeopardised by the actions of Mr. Jason Micallef, Chairman of the Valletta 2018 Foundation. His ongoing derogatory public comments about the assassination of Daphne Caruana Galizia do not reflect the European objectives and principles of the Capital of Culture initiative. As chairman of Valletta 2018 Foundation, Mr Micallef has been appointed by you to represent a European project, including ourselves, as laid out in European legislation. The role of a Chairman of a European Capital of Culture cannot be partisan in attitude and purposely divisive in action.

In addition, we would like to recall the number of instances that Mr. Micallef used his role as Chairman of the European Capital of Culture to publicly ridicule and attack artists who criticised and satirised those in power. His role as Chairman should be to safeguard this right, not to threaten it.

Using artists, culture and Valletta 2018 for political expedience is shocking and outrageous.

The irresponsible and embarrassing actions of Mr. Micallef are leaving irreparable damage to the reputation, programme and leadership of Valletta 2018. This is a legacy that the Maltese cultural sector does not need or want.

We, the undersigned reiterate the call for his immediate resignation.

Joanna Agius **Charlotte Agius** Alexandra Aquilina Toni Attard Marisa Attard Isabella Attard Maxine Attard Kit Azzopardi Claire Azzopardi Isaac Azzopardi Alev Blackburn Michael Bock **Debbie Bonello** Steve Bonello Jo Book Keith Borg Ruth Borg Celia Borg Cardona

Nanette Brimmer Nathan Brimmer Adrian Buckle Maria Buckle Stefanelle Cachia Miriam Calleja Glen Calleja Florinda Camilleri Martina Camilleri Thomas Camilleri Frank Camilleri Jo Caruana Debbie Caruana Dingli Antione Cassar Priscilla Cassar Arnold Cassola Vicki Ann Cremona Nicole Cuschieri Becky D'Ugo Oliver Degabriele Ann Demarco Ramona Depares Andrew Diacono Lizzie Eldridge Abner Fabbro Antoine Farrugia Michael Fenech Karina Fiorini Paula Fleri Soler Mario Frendo Malcolm Galea Davinia Galea Miriam Galea Andrew Galea Marco Galea Alison Galea Timothy Garrett Albert Gatt Christopher Gatt Claudia Gauci Euchar Gravina Elizabeth Grech David Grech Urpani Gisele Grima Stanley Joe Portelli Philip Leone Ganado Tonio Mallia Lorinda Mamo

Polly March Pierre Mejlak Edward Mercieca Immanuel Mifsud Sandra Mifsud Ben Mifsud Joslin Nadja Mifsud Mutschler Angelique Muller Ryan Murdock Carlo Muscat Greta Muscat Azzopardi Alan Paris **Faye Paris** Lucia Piquero Neils Plotard Paul Portelli Margerita Pule Teodor Reljic Zvezdan Reljic Stephanie Sant Karl Schembri Andrew Schembri David Schembri Brandon Shaw Michael Spagnol James Spiteri Charlotte Stafrace Pierre Stafrace Jo Tabone Seb Tanti Burlo Nadine Theuma (Noko) Tom Van Malderen Louiselle Vassallo Raphael Vella Mario Vella Joseph Paul Vella Veronique Vella Vincent Vella Tanya Vella Stefanie Weenink Karsten Xuereb Pia Zammit Martina Zammit Abigail Ardelle Zammit Ilaria Zammit

*Another 24 artists endorsing the letter have requested for their identity to remain confidential and not to be disclosed publicly.