The Malta Independent 21 August 2019, Wednesday

Mario Aquilina And Benji Borg named Sailors of the Year

Malta Independent Wednesday, 2 February 2005, 00:00 Last update: about 6 years ago

The Malta Sailing Federation organised the Sailor of The Year Award and for the second consecutive year Benji Borg won the Junior award.

Benji now has left the Optimist class and will carry on his sailing career on the laser Class.

Another two junior sailors from MYSC were nominated for the award. One sailor was Karl Cremona who has also excelled this year. The other junior sailor nominated was William Camilleri who is not a newcomer to the Optimist class. .

The sailor of the year award is judged not only on ranking but also for the commitment to the sport and the federation has sailors who are extremely committed and who have improved in this class which is fairly new to them.

Mario Aquilina won the senior category of The Sailor of The Year Award. This is not the first time for him.

In the senior category Simon Aquilina , Darren Cauchi and Nikki Sammut were among the nominees.

  • don't miss