An extremely distinctive mid 17th century, sixteen-sided country house – Torri Mamo is also a unique example of a fortified family home in Malta. Contrary to popular belief caused by its reference to a tower, this structure was not built by the Order of St John. As the name suggests, it was built in 1657 by the Mamo family as a fortified home to protect family members and neighbours, against marauding invaders, mainly the Turks. These incursions were very frequent at that time, particularly from the direction of St Thomas Bay, a few metres away.
The Mamo family also erected a chapel dedicated to St Caiatan, situated just fifty metres away.
Over the years the Tower has had many owners. It passed to the Sceberras and Apap Bologna family’s, and at the beginning of the 20th century was inherited by Lord Strickland. The Tower was later leased to the Galea family, known as tal-Matru, from Zejtun. It was then sold to a Mr B. Desira, also of Zejtun, who used it as a summer residence. Taken over by the British Military Authorities in 1940 for use as Regional Headquarters, a pill box was constructed on the roof. Subsequently, it was rented to another Zejtun family, but due to severe deterioration of the property they gave the lease back to the government in 1987.
The distinctive shape of Torri Mamo is unique because of its 16 facades, built in the form of a St. Andrew’s cross, with a circular internal stone hall and a surrounding moat.
On entering the Tower, visitors find themselves in a beautiful round room, expertly built with a domed roof. This leads to four other separate, but smaller rooms forming the four arms of the cross.
On the left hand side there is a staircase leading to the roof, from where one can enjoy the beautiful scenery. On the right, another staircase leads to a lower roof on top of one of the four rooms.
A two-metre wide ditch stretches around the Tower, with a bridge over the main door, which was formerly a draw-bridge. In the ditch lies a fourth century, Roman Tomb which probably originated from the Phoenician period.
In 1988, the building was handed over in trust to Din l-Art Helwa by the Culture Ministry. A condition survey was immediately undertaken. When this was completed, the stone masonry – which was in a state of deterioration – was replaced. Columns were erected so that a gate could be built at the entrance from the road. Between 1994 and 1995 flagstones were laid down, and restoration of the external walls, as well as the fitting of internal and external lighting was completed. The installation of a bathroom, and the conversion of a small room into a kitchen, rendered the tower suitable for certain functions.
In 1995, Round Table (Malta), a Corporate Member of Din l-Art Helwa, generously sponsored the restoration work. Further embellishments to improve facilities for visitors to this heritage site were undertaken by Din l-Art Helwa.
In line with the policy of Din l-Art Helwa to open this site to the public, the Tower is open to visitors from Thursday to Sunday, 9.30 am to 12.00 noon.
Din l-Art Helwa is trying to increase membership. Be a guardian of Malta’s heritage by becoming a member. For more details send an e-mail to [email protected] giving your name and forwarding address, or visit our website www.dinlarthelwa.org
Mr Rizzo is the Treasurer of Din l-Art Helwa