The Malta Independent 28 May 2023, Sunday
View E-Paper

New Format ought to make competition more attractive

Malta Independent Saturday, 27 August 2011, 00:00 Last update: about 10 years ago

The revamped U*BET FA Trophy will, from this season, have a new format. The competition will include 63 teams from Malta and Gozo, comprising 12 each from the Premier League and First Division, 14 each from the Second and Third Divisions, together with 11 other teams from Gozo. Qala Saints, Munxar Falcons and Zebbug Rovers are not taking part in this year’s edition.

Speaking prior to yesterday’s First and Second Round draw at the Centenary Hall, MFA Chief Executive Officer Bjorn Vassallo, said that because the Association is committed to make its competitions very popular, the new format, together with the help of Maltco Lotteries as main sponsors, will help to raise the competition’s standard when the Premier League clubs will go into the draw as from the Third Round.

Mario Cassar, General Director of Maltco Lotteries, who are sponsoring the evnt for the seventh year running, said that he is looking forward, with more enthusiasm injected into this year’s prestigious competition.

In his short address to the media, Mario Cassar augured “entertainment value and fair play for the improvement in standard of Maltese football”.

The First Round draw included Third Division clubs and the Gozo teams with the First and Second Division teams joining the winners in the Second Round.


Round 1:

Qrendi-Ghajnsielem; Mtarfa-Xghajra Tornados; Swieqi U-Xewkija Tigers; Ghaxaq-Pembroke A; Xghara U-Kalkara; Mdina Knights-Gharb Rangers; Victoria W-St Lawrence Spurs; Kercem A-Nadur Youngsters; Marsa-Fgura U; Sannat L-Sirens; Mgarr U-Oratory Youths.

Round 2:

Lija A-St Andrews; Attard FC-Vittoriosa S; Kercem A/Nadur Y-Victoria H; St Patrick’s FC-Marsascala; Senglea A-Zebbug R; Dingli S-Qrendi/Ghajnsielem; Marsa/Fgura-Msida SJ; San Gwann FC-St Venera L; Mtarfa/Xghajra T-St.George’s FC; Kirkop U-Naxxar L; Gzira U-Viktoria W/St Lawrence S; Pieta H-St Lucia; Xghara/Kalkara-Siggiewi FC; Swieqi/Xewkija-Mdina K/Gharb R; Sannat/Sirens-Gharghur FC; Zejtun C-Mgarr/Oratory Y; Mellieha-Melita FC; Rabat A-B’Bugia St Peter’s; Luqa St Andrews-Zurrieq FC; Gudja U-Ghaxaq/Pembroke.

  • don't miss