The Malta Independent 18 June 2024, Tuesday
View E-Paper

New film classifications issued

Malta Independent Tuesday, 23 July 2013, 19:47 Last update: about 11 years ago

As from Wednesday, 24 July, the provisions of Legal Notice 416/2012 with regards to film age-classification will come into force.

The new age-classification categories are as follows:

‘U’ - Universal (suitable for all); ‘PG’ - Parental Guidance (General viewing, but some scenes may be unsuitable for young children); '12A’ - suitable for persons of 12 years and over: Provided that persons younger than 12 years may attend only when accompanied by an adult; '12’ - suitable only for persons of 12 years and over; ‘15’ - suitable for persons of 15 years and over; and ‘18’ - suitable only for persons aged 18 years and over.

As a result of the new classification structure, ‘14’ and ‘16’ are removed. New classification grades are ‘12A’ and ‘15’.  The ‘PG’ certificate will have a new definition.

The age-classification certificate and notices to the public containing additional information shall be exhibited in a conspicuous place at the entrance of the premises and may be communicated to the public by any other means.  In the near future, the new Board for Film Age-Classification shall be publishing a classification guide for each film which should help the public to make an informed decision when choosing which film to see.

Any change as a result of the provision of the Legal Notice is that when a person who has applied for the examination of the film may, if he feels aggrieved by the decision of the Film Age-Classification Board, within five days of receiving said decision, apply in writing to the Classification Review Board for a review of such decision. The Review Board may confirm or reverse the decision of the Film Age-Classification Board.  Until now, when a film distributor disagreed with the Film Age-Classification Board, the distributor had to submit an appeal to the same Board.

Film classification is now no longer under the Police Laws but under the Malta Council for Culture and the Arts Act.

The new Board was appointed by José Herrera, Parliamentary Secretary for Culture and Local Government.  The Board is chaired by Mario A. Azzopardi.  The other members are: Dr. Roberta Attard, Victor Bonello, Alfred Briffa, Dr Katya De Giovanni, Dominic Garcia, Marion Grech u Pia Micallef.

  • don't miss