The Malta Independent 3 June 2020, Wednesday

Faculty of Media & Knowledge Sciences Dean’s award

Thursday, 16 May 2019, 10:29 Last update: about 2 years ago

On 3 May, the Faculty of Media and Knowledge Sciences of the University of Malta held the first edition of the Dean's award.

The event was addressed by the dean of the Faculty, Prof. Noellie Brockdorff, who delivered an opening speech during which she outlined the growth of the Faculty since it was set up in 2011, highlighting that during the past eight years, hundreds of students have graduated from the six departments housed within Maks, from bachelor, master, as well as doctoral programmes.


Prof. Brockdorff thanked the founding dean, Rev. Prof Saviour Chircop, for his vision and relentless work during the process of the extension and refurbishment of the new faculty building inaugurated in 2015.

She also added that the academics in the faculty are among the most research active on campus having attracted over €2m of research funding from Cost Actions, the FP7, Horizon 2020 and Marie Curie research programmes of the European Union as well as from other international research agencies.

Prof. Brockdorff concluded by congratulating the award winners for their hard work and outstanding academic success achieved during the 2017/2018 academic year.

Awards were presented to:

Lisa Marie Kähler (1st year)

Michela Cutajar (2nd year)

Daniel Zammit (3rd year)

For academic excellence in bachelor programmes


Rebekah Mifsud

For academic excellence in the taught component of master programmes


Mikela Zerafa

For outstanding dissertation presented as part of a bachelor programme


Antida Mizzi

For outstanding dissertation presented as part of a taught master programme

The award trophy presented to the winners was designed by Dr Matthew Galea from the Department of Digital Arts. The evening's programme also included show reels of animation and video production work by students from the Faculty's Department of Digital Arts and the Department of Media and Communications.

Apart from the winners and their guests, also present at the ceremony were the pro-rector of the University of Malta, Prof. Joseph Cacciottolo and the registrar, Veronica Grech, together with other members of the Faculty.  
  • don't miss