The Malta Independent 13 November 2019, Wednesday

Cycling: Fine show of tactics at the Birkirkara St. Joseph Arch Criterium

Maria Vella--Galea Tuesday, 18 June 2019, 19:00 Last update: about 6 months ago

Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club in collaboration with the Central Region Committee hosted the BSJ Arch Criterium, in Fleur de Lys on Sunday as part of an annual programme of events held throughout the region.  The race welcomed forty athletes, representing local cycling clubs across the islands.

The Criterium is an exciting race  consisting of several laps around a closed circuit.  The race welcomed cyclists in various starting groups which included Under 14s, Under 16s, Juniors, Under 23, Masters 40+, Masters 50+, Ladies and finishing off with the Elite Category.  Each category had a predetermined race time, starting from 30 minutes up to 60 mins. 


Despite the hot weather conditions, the race was a show of tactics and speed by the various cycling teams which could be seen working together. The Elite category was a perfect example of these tactics which could be seen from the very start of the 60 minute race.  The emerging winner was Alexander Smyth who in the coming days will be representing Malta in the European Games in Minsk.

Birkirkara St. Joseph is grateful for the support of the Local Councils Central Region Committee and Farsons Group of Companies for their support towards this initiative. Trophies were presented to the winners by Mr. Michael Fenech Adami, representative of the Central Region Committee.


Race Results

Under 14s Male & Female

1st - Miguel Galea (The Cyclist)

1st - Hannah Dandria (Mosta AF Sign Studio CC)


Under 16s Male & Female

1st - Darren Sultana (Gozo CC)

1st - Kristina Spiteri (The Cyclist)



1st  - Luke Borg  (The Cyclist)

2nd - Max Zammit (Mosta AF Sign Studio CC)

3rd  - Sean Enriquez (Mosta AF Sign Studio CC)


Under 23

1st - Isaac Spiteri (The Cyclist)

2nd - Nicholas Attard Montalto (The Cyclist)

3rd - Brandon Sultana (Gozo CC)



1st - Marion Said Pullicino ((Mosta AF Sign Studio CC)


Masters 40+

1st - Mario Attard (Team Greens)

2nd - Brian Rogers (Birkirkara St. Joseph Sports Club)

3rd - Malcolm Cachia (The Cyclist)


Masters 50+

1st - Michael Polidano (The Cyclist)



1st - Alexander Smyth (Team MAAP Basso)

2nd - Christian Formosa (The Cyclist)

3rd - Pierre Borg ((Mosta AF Sign Studio CC)

  • don't miss