The Malta Independent 11 July 2020, Saturday

Waterpolo, BOV Summer League: San Ġiljan react after the draw against Exiles

Stewart Said Friday, 28 June 2019, 23:34 Last update: about 2 years ago
Photos: Domenic Aquilina
Photos: Domenic Aquilina


SLIEMA FRANK SALT................ 7

(4-2), (3-2), (2-2), (2-1)

After the draw against Exiles, the pressure was on San Ġiljan not to let more points slip away. The Saints were the better team and deserved the three points as they were more compact and were brave enough to hold on to their lead.

San Ġiljan won the first session 4-2. Contributing to this lead was their captain Matthew Zammit who scored two penalties and a brilliant goal. Sliema scored their two goals from man-up and a penalty by Gavril Subotic.


In the second session, Jerome Gabarretta responded after Andreas Galea's goal but Paul Fava showed his value as he scored two splendid goals to put his team 7-4 in front by the end of the second session. Nicholas Bugelli scored between Fava's goals.

Sliema thought they entered back in the game on two occasions in the third session, but in both occasions San Ġiljan responded few seconds later. The important goal that had a bearing on the outcome arrived in the last second with a low drive by Guillermo Molina.

The Spaniard-Italian made it 10-6, converting a penalty in the first part of the last session. Sliema still had time to stay in the game but San Ġiljan's goalkeeper Jake Tanti proved to be a tough nut to crack and kept the comfortable lead for his team.

Gabarretta scored a consolation goal but Niksa Dobud scored the last goal of the game, converting a well-planned action. If Exiles confirm their place in Premier Divison, San Ġiljan will start the league with four points while with this loss Sliema start with three points.

San Ġiljan: J. Tanti, B. Grech, A. Galea (2), N. Dobud (2), G. Molina (2), M. Zammit (3), B. Plumpton, K. Dowling, T. Said, Da. Zammit, P. Fava (2), Di. Zammit, T. Micallef, J. Bonavia, A. Saliba

Sliema: J. Parnis, J. Gabarretta (2), G. Subotic (2), J. Sciberras, M. Meli (1), N. Hoznyansky, M. Spiteri Staines, L. Galea, B. Cachia, J. Gambin (1), Z. Mizzi, N. Bugelli (1), M. Vassallo, K. Borg, J. Cachia

Referees: Mario Dalli, Stefano Scappini


Marsaxlokk seal their place in Premier Division


TA' XBIEX AMIGOS.................. 11

(4-4), (4-2), (3-2), (1-3)

Despite not playing at their best, Marsaxlokk Brown's Pharmacy got what they wanted. These three points confirmed their status to play in Premier Division, which was their aim set by their hard-working President Victor Fenech after three consecutive First Division championships.

Ta' Xbiex gave their money's worth as they didn't give their opponents an easy pass and it would have been an injustice if they finished the game with at least a point.

Giuseppe Dato's young squad took the advantage four times in the first sessions but still didn't end the session ahead after Marsaxlokk equalised in the four occasions. Youngster Niall Saliba stood out in the first session scoring a hat-trick.

Marsaxlokk managed to take the lead for the first time in the second session. Andrija Vlahovic put his team 6-5 in front but after Niccolo Gitto equalised, Ivan Nagaev scored and Vlahovic doubled the advantage.

This two-goal cushion gave Marsaxlokk the necessary boost as after Kacar reduced the margin, Vlahovic and Nagaev scored three goals between them for a comfortable 11-7 advantage. At that stage Marsaxlokk that the game was done and dusted but Ta' Xbiex had other plans as a goal by Kacar in the third session and two by Gitto in the last session opened the game.

It was only about a minute from the end of the game that Nagev scored his fourth goal of the game. Despite Kacar's goal, Ta' Xbiex didn't have enough time to avoid defeat.

Marsaxlokk: R. Coleiro, J. Rizzo Naudi, L. Calleja, M. Martellacci (1), T. Agius (1), J. Galea, A. Vlahovic (5), I. Nagaev (4), S. Micallef, R. Scerri, M. Cacici, O. Zammit, F. Buhagiar, M. Pace, K. Galea (1)

Ta' Xbiex: Z. Sciberras, R. Greco, M. Demarco, N. Schiavone, M. Carani, G. Blundell, D. Fenech, N. Saliba (3), N. Kacar (4), G. Sammut, K. Tanti (1), N. Gitto (3), A. Theuma

Referees: Ronnie Spiteri, Gianfranco Bonavita

  • don't miss