The Malta Independent 4 August 2020, Tuesday

Waterpolo, Div I Knockout: Marsaskala win the knockout for the second consecutive year

Stewart Said Sunday, 25 August 2019, 21:40 Last update: about 12 months ago
Photo: Domenic Aquilina
Photo: Domenic Aquilina


BIRŻEBBUĠA FREEPORT................ 9

(4-2), (3-2), (1-2), (2-3)

Marsaskala Fish and Fish ended the season again on a high after they got the better of Birżebbuġa Freeport to win a tight match. Marsaskala were behind their opponents and as usual relied on their foreign power as Konstantin Averka and Kristijan Milakovic not only led the team but scored four goals each from the ten scored by them


Marsaskala ended the first session 4-2 in front. They had a double advantage twice in the session, but Antonio Petkovic had scored a brace in few seconds to cancel the goals by Averka and Milakovic. That was until Jan Culic and again Averka scored for Dorian Pisani's team.

They kept their noses in front in the second session despite the goal by Petkovic early in the session. Neil Cassar responded immediately to the goal by Milakovic, but Felice and Milakovic gave Marsaskala a three-goal lead.

Birżebbuġa stayed in the game in the third session as Antonio Petkovic and Jake Bajada responded to the goal earlier scored by Averka to keep the gap of two goals before the beginning of the last session.

Birżebbuġa had to react after the goal by Averka early in the last session and they did so by scoring twice from Jake Bajada and Antonio Petkovic. Milakovic lobbed over Daniel Spiteri but Petkovic scored his sixth of the game to keep his team with a chance. But they failed to finish their last acion with a shot as Marsaskala finished the game as winners.

Marsaskala's captain Liam Grixti was presented with the trophy by the Executive of BOV Paul Gauci.

Marsaskala: J. Micallef, J.C. Cutajar, M. Manara, M. Aquilina, L. Grixti, K. Navarro, K. Milakovic (4), K. Averka (4), J. Culic (1), R. Attard, D. Borg Millo, M. Borg, L. Felice (1), J. Ciantar

Birżebbuġa: D. Spiteri, M. Borg, N. Cassar (1), D. Pace Lupi, R. Spiteri, A. Petkovic (6), S. Vassallo, D. Cutajar, J. Bajada (2), M. Cutajar, A. Goreta, M. Ortoleva, A. Bugeja, C. Farrugia, J. Cremona

Referees: Ronnie Spiteri, Giuseppe Fusco

  • don't miss