The Malta Independent 25 October 2020, Sunday

Civil Service heads have served as secretaries to the Security Committee since 2001

Wednesday, 22 January 2020, 19:25 Last update: about 10 months ago


The Head of the Civil Service has occupied the role of Secretary of the Security Committee since 2001, his office said this evening.

Principal Permanent Secretary Mario Cutajar was reacting to news that emerged from the latest sitting in the public inquiry into the murder of Daphne Caruana Galizia.

The head of the Malta Security Services, Josef Bugeja, said in today's hearing that PPS Mario Cutajar attended meetings of the Security Committee. The sitting was mostly held behind closed doors.

In a statement, the Principal Permanent Secretary's office said the Head of the Civil Service has held the role of secretary of the committee since 2001, upon the nomination and approval of then Prime Minister Eddie Fenech Adami.

JR Grima, who served as Civil Service Head from 2001 to 2004, and Godwin Grima, who held the role between 2004 and 2013, both served as secretaries to the Security Committee, the statement said.

Mario Cutajar assumed the role in 2013 and the Opposition Leader was present for every meeting attended by Cutajar, the statement continued.

The office also published the minute with which Fenech Adami had, in 2001, permitted the Civil Service Head to serve as the Security Committee's secretary.








  • don't miss