The Malta Independent 11 August 2022, Thursday

A routine win for Sliema

Wednesday, 20 July 2022, 08:08 Last update: about 21 days ago

Stewart Said

SLIEMA FRANK SALT.......... 16


(4-1), (4-1), (3-3), (5-0)


Sliema Frank Salt made it easy for themselves as their fifth win of the league was never in doubt. Birżebbuġa couldn’t catch up with their rhythm and apart from the third session, they were never in the game, also missing their captain David Cutajar again.


Sliema responded after Giuseppe Mannino’s initial goal for Birżebbuġa. Benji Cachia, Matthew Mifsud, Dino Zammit and Jayden Cutajar all scored in the second part of the session. A reaction was expected from Birżebbuġa to stay in the game, but Sliema kept controlling matters and won the second session with an identical result to start the third session with a comfortable 8-2 advantage.

Birżebbuġa’s consolation period came after the break as they responded twice to the goals of Sliema. First it was Miguel Curmi who scored right after John Brownrigg made it 9-2. Then after Dino Zammit and Jayden Cutajar’s goals, Keith Tanti and Christian Mifsud clawed two goals back.

As things stood, the scoreline for Birżebbuġa seemed a bit respectable but Sliema had other plans as they scored five consecutive goals in about three minutes to win 16-5. Benji Cachia, Mark Meli, John Brownrigg, Kieyan Borg and Jayden Cutajar scored the goals.

Sliema: N. Grixti, J. Gabarretta, L. Galea (1), D. Rizzo, M. Meli (1), B. Cachia (2), J. Cutajar (4), M. Mifsud (1), J. Brownrigg (2), J. Gambin, Z. Mizzi, D. Zammit (4), A. Theuma, K. Borg (1)

Birżebbuġa: M. Vassallo, J. Farrugia (1), N. Cassar, B. Grech, C. Mifsud (1), R. Mock, I. Galea, D. Farrugia, S. Bezzina, K. Tanti (1), G. Mannino (1), M. Curmi (1), M. Sladden, D. Incorvaja, G. Sammut

Referees: Pasquale Rogondino, Ronnie Spiteri



TA’ XBIEX AMIGOS........... 14

OTTERS NIVEA.................. 9

(3-2), (2-1), (5-4), (4-2)


Ta’ Xbiex: R. Coleiro, C.J. Saliba, E. Aquilina (4), J. Pace Mizzi (2), E. Meli, S. Engerer, J. Saliba, J. Cassar (5) E. Schembri (1), Z. Cutajar Licari (2), B. Attard Littschwager, J. Chircop, Z. Dzanovic, P. Tabone, T. Fenech

Otters: M. Xerri, M. Bonnici, K. Scicluna (1), L. Grech Carr (3), M. Farrugia, D. Dimech (1), I. Azzopardi, S. Dimech (2), L. Dimech (1), S. Apap, Z. Bartolo, A. Dimech (1), M. Grech, K. Micallef

Referees: Fabio Ricciotti, Massimo Angileri



BARRACUDAS.................... 4

(5-1), (4-0), (8-1), (3-2)


Marsaskala: J. Micallef, J.C. Cutajar (2), A. Camenzuli (1), P. Privitera (1), R. Greco (2), G. Galea, K. Navarro, M. Manara (3), D. Pace Lupi (4), G. Sammut (2), J. Ciantar (2), M. Carani (3), A. Muscat

Barracudas: M. Borg, A. Piccione, A. Magri, P. Micallef, D. Ciantar, R. Sciortino, S. Aquilina, L. Galea, D. Camilleri, J. Bugeja, A. Mifsud, T.J. Mifsud, C. Bugeja

Referees: Pasquale Rogondino, Peter Balzan

  • don't miss