The Malta Independent 12 July 2024, Friday
View E-Paper

Updated: Roberta Metsola, Alex Agius Saliba both elected, Cassola in third place

Sunday, 9 June 2024, 13:50 Last update: about 2 months ago

Roberta Metsola and Alex Agius Saliba, as expected, top the list on either side of the political fence in terms of votes obtained, according to graphs released by the Electoral Commission.

Both were unofficially elected as they have surpassed the quota, according to sources.

The commission as yet cannot issue numbers, but it is giving indication as to the choice of candidates made by the people in the European Parliament elections.

Independent candidate Arnold Cassola is in third place.

The graph indicates first count votes only, and the list could change depending on the inheritance of the votes.

Daniel Attard and Thomas Bajada are in second and third place among Labour candidates, while Peter Agius and David Agius are in second and third among the PN candidates.

PN insiders say that David Casa is likely to get elected by inheriting many of Roberta Metsola's votes.

  • don't miss