The Malta Independent 22 May 2019, Wednesday

PM announces widespread changes to Cabinet

Malta Independent Saturday, 29 March 2014, 17:10 Last update: about 6 years ago

Prime Minister Joseph Muscat today announced a series of changes to the Cabinet of Ministers after the nomination of Marie Louise Coleiro Preca as President and the resignations of Health Minister Godfrey Farrugia and parliamentary secretary Franco Mercieca.

The changes were announced in a Department of Information statement.

No press conference was held, but Dr Muscat tweeted that "we are an energetic government and will continue to deliver".

Tourism Minister Karmenu Vella has been named EU Commissioner and will no longer remain part of the Cabinet. He will eventually replace Tonio Borg when the latter's term expires in November.

Energy Minister Konrad Mizzi will be also Health Minister (replacing Dr Godfrey Farrugia who resigned) with Chris Fearne as parliamentary secretary for health.

Michael Farrugia, until today responsible for Mepa and the simplification of administrative procedures, will be Social Policy Minister with Justyne Caruana as parliamentary secretary for disabled and elderly persons. She takes over from Franco Mercieca, a Gozitan replacing a Gozitan.

Edward Zammit Lewis, until now parliamentary secretary in the economy ministry, is now Tourism Minister.

Owen Bonnici has been promoted to Justice and Local Government Minister with Stefan Buontempo, until now responsible for research, innovation and sports, moving on to the post of parliamentary secretary for local councils.

Michael Falzon is parliamentary secretary responsible for planning in the Office of the Prime Minister.

Chris Agius is parliamentary secretary for research, innovation and sports, replacing Dr Buontempo.

Jose Herrera moves away from culture and is now parliamentary secretary for competition and economic growth.

Carmelo Abela will be the official government spokesman while Tony Agius Decelis is commissioner against bureaucracy, replacing Michael Falzon.

The new positions will be effective as from 2 April, after the resignation of Marie Louise Coleiro Preca.

The Cabinet is made up of 15 ministers and eight parliamentary secretaries, the same as there was before. Some portfolios have been changed.

In all, four have moved out of the Cabinet to be replaced by another four, not necessarily in the same portfolio. Two parliamentary secretaries have been promoted to ministers, while another two have had their responsibilities changed.

The full Cabinet is as follows

Office of the Prime Minister

Prime Minister

Dr Joseph Muscat


Parliamentary Secretary for Planning and Administrative Simplification

Dr Michael Falzon (new)


Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for European Affairs and the implementation of the Electoral Manifesto

Louis Grech


Parliamentary Secretary for EU Presidency 2017 and European Funds

Dr Ian Borg


Foreign Affairs Minister

Dr George Vella


Education and Employment Minister

Evarist Bartolo


Parliamentary secretary for Research, Innovation, Youth and Sport

Chris Agius (new)


Sustainable Development, Environment, and Climate Change Minister

Leo Brincat


Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Animal Rights

Roderick Galdes


Transport and Infrastructure Minister

Joe Mizzi


Gozo Minister

Dr Anton Refalo


Social Dialogue, Consumer Affairs and Civil Rights Minister

Dr Helena Dalli


Economy, Investment and Small Business Minister

Dr Christian Cardona


Parliamentary secretary for Competition and Economic Growth

Dr Jose' Herrera (changed portfolio)


Home Affairs and National Security Minister

Dr Emanuel Mallia


Finance Minister

Prof Edward Scicluna


Energy and Health Minister

Dr Konrad Mizzi (additional portfolio)


Parliamentary Secretary for Health

Dr Chris Fearne (new)


Family and Social Solidarity Minister

Dr Michael Farrugia (promoted)


Parliamentary Secretary for Disabled Persons and Elderly People’s rights

Dr Justyne Caruana (new)


Justice, Culture and Local Government Minister

Dr Owen Bonnici (promoted)


Parliamentary Secretary for Local Government

Dr Stefan Buontempo (changed portfolio)


Tourism Minister

Dr Edward Zammit Lewis (promoted)

  • don't miss