The Malta Independent 14 December 2018, Friday

Birzebbugia ASC present Senior Water Polo Team for 2018

Domenic Aquilina Friday, 22 December 2017, 18:02 Last update: about 13 months ago

Photo:  Domenic Aquilina


During a special event at the Birzebbugia Aquatic & Sports Club, Birzebbugia ASC officially presented their Senior Water Polo Team for the coming water polo season.


Club President George Farrugia stated what a memorable year this has been for the club.


"2017 was a momentous year for the club.  Not only did we finally see our dreams come to reality after 15 years come to final stage with the completion of our club house, but we had so many milestones" stated Mr. Farrugia.



Amongst these he mentioned the return to competitive water polo with the senior team at First Division Level and the winning of the Knock Out competition at the same level this season.


The securing of the official sponsor Malta Freeport was also given its' importance during the event with the presence of CEO Mr. Alex Montebello who augured the team the best of successes in the coming season.


The Senior team for season 2018 is the following:


David Abela; Daniel Spiteri



Julian Rizzo Naudi; Gary Farrugia; 



David Cutajar; Neil Cassar



Simon Vassallo; David Pace Lupi



Stephen Micallef; Karl Rizzo Naudi; Jordan Buhagiar;


The two foreign players engaged by the Birzebbugia Water Polo club are none other than Spanish international Sergi Mora and Montenegrin Darko Brguljan.


Italian head coach Marco Risso will again be at the helm of the team, assisted by Anthony Farrugia and Simon Cutajar.


  • don't miss