The Malta Independent 20 June 2019, Thursday

Malta Cycling Federation: William Hili Elite Champion; second title for Marie Claire Aquilina

Friday, 17 August 2018, 10:29 Last update: about 11 months ago

The National Time Trial Championship organized by the Malta Cycling Federation (MCF), ended recently with William Hili of Mosta being crowned champions with a total of 575 points gained from victories at Mtarfa and il-Mizieb while he also placed second at Mriehel. Hili finished ahead Alexander Pettett, of Pro Action - CT Volata who placed second with 510 points while last year's champion Etienne Bonello of Team Greens completed the podium on 455 points.


Marie Claire Aquilina of Team Greens, confirmed her good form when she was crowned as ladies champion when compiling a maximum of 600 points. Aquilina won all three races held this season to rubberstamp her dominance. This was a double victory for Aquilina as she is also won the Road race Championship. Her team-mate Michelle Vella Wood was second on 505 points with Marion Pullicino, of Mosta AF Sign Studio, taking third place on 455 points.

Isaac Spiteri of The Cyclist Club topped the Junior Championship after winning all three races held. Spiteri also gained a double after weeks ago won the Road race title. Second place went to Gianluca Camilleri, of Birkirkara St. Joseph SC, with 525 points while third ended Nicholas Vella of Agones SFC with 155 points.

Ivan Zammit of Birkirkara St Joseph topped the Master category 40+ when he finishes with 575 points. Zammit topped the races held in Mtarfa and il-Mizieb while he also placed second at Mriehel. Thus Zammit confirmed to remain Champion of this category for the second consecutive year. Malcolm Cachia of The Cyclist came second on 480 points while Nicholas Schembri of Mosta AF Sign Studio CC was third on 385.

The 50+ Masters Championship was won by Steve Mifsud, of Mosta AF Sign Studio CC who topped the standings with 600 points to finish ahead Mosta's Mark Schembri and Joseph Micallef, of The Cyclist who both shared second place with 175 points.

The U-16 championship was won by Sean Enriquez of Mosta AF Sign Studio CC with 555 points obtained from victories at Mtarfa and il-Mizieb while he also placed third at Mriehel. For Enriquez this was a double championship after also winning the Road Race title. Michael Sean Darmanin of Mosta AF Sign Studio CC was runner up (425) while another Mosta cyclist Malcolm Vassallo was third with 355 points.

Christina Spiteri of The Cyclist was crowned as the under 14 Girls champion when compiling a maximum of 600 points. So she also doubles her titles this year. Justine De Giorgio and Bettina Falzon, both of Mosta AF Sign Studio CC completed the podium on 350 and 315 point respectively.

Matthew Galea Pirotta Mosta of AF Sign Studio CC finished first in the under 14 years Boys category with a maximum of 600 points, followed by two other cyclists of the same Mosta club, Tristan Aquilina and Leon Aquilina with 525 and 410 points respectively. For Galea Pirotta this was a double title this season.

The Malta Cycling Federation wants to show its appreciation towards all cyclists for their participation as well as officials of all clubs, as well as team ARRTS Timing System for their great job. Other thanks also go to the respective Local Councils, Transport Malta, Police and Emergency First Response services and their cooperation.


Overall Championship Time Trial Classification


1. William Hili                      - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC     575 points

2. Alexander Pettett             - Pro Action - Volata CT                510 points

3. Etienne Bonello                - Team Greens                    455 points



1. Marie Claire Aquilina         - Team Greens                    600 points

2. Michelle Vella Wood         - Team Greens                    505 points

3. Marion Pullicino               - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC     455 points



1. Isaac Spiteri                   - The Cyclist                       600 points

2. Gianluca Camilleri            - B'Kara St.Joseph SC          525 points

3. Nicholas Vella                  - Agones SFC                      155 points


Masters 40+    

1. Ivan Zammit                   - B'Kara St.Joseph SC          575 points

2. Malcolm Cachia               - The Cyclist                       480 points

3. Nicholas Schembri           - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC     385 points


Masters 50+

1. Steve Mifsud                   - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC     600 points

2. Mark Schembri                       - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC     175 points

2. Joseph Micallef                - The Cyclist                       175 points


Under 16 Male

1. Sean Enriquez                 - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC    555 points 

2. Michael Sean Darmanin    - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC    425 points 

3. Malcolm Vassallo             - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC    355 points 


Under 14 Female

1. Christina Spiteri                - The Cyclist                      600 points

2. Justine Degiorgio             - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC    350 points 

2. Bettina Falzon                 - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC    315 points


Under 14 Male

1. Matthew Galea Pirotta       - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC    600 points 

2. Tristan Aquilina                - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC    525 points 

3. Leon Aquilina                  - Mosta AF Sign Studio CC    410 points

  • don't miss