The Malta Independent 26 June 2019, Wednesday

Shooting: Rennie Deguara wins the Franz Ciantar Trap Min Grand Prix

Monday, 24 September 2018, 09:23 Last update: about 10 months ago

Rennie Deguara won the Franz Ciantar Trap Mini Grand Prix at the Qormi Clay Shooting Club, an event that was organised on three qualification rounds of twenty five clay targets each plus Finals.

Christopher Vella joined Deguara on the podium as he finished in second place overall while James Galea Jr. also made the podium in third place.

This weekend's Final was dominated by shooters from Class B, as the only two shooters to come from a different class were James Galea Jr. and George Mifsud who compete in class A.


The six Finalists in the Bib number order according to their qualification scores were;

John Marmara 70/75, Rennie Deguara 67/75, James Galea Jr. 64/75+2 and Christopher Vella 64/75+1 were the first four Athletes who made it through, while Stephen Aquilina, George Mifsud and Chris Farrugia had to go for a three-way shoot-off to fill in positions number five and six. Farrugia was eliminated after the fifth target while Mifsud and Aquilina finished with the scores of 63/75+8 and 63/75+7.

This weekend's official overall results were:

1st Rennie Deguara 23/25 + 5/5 + 3/5 + 3/5 + 9/10, total score 43/50

2nd Christopher Vella 22/25 + 4/5 + 3/5 + 4/5 + 7/10, total score 40/50

3rd James Galea Jr. 20/25 + 5/5 + 3/5 + 3/5, total score 31/40

4th George Mifsud 20/25 + 4/5 + 1/5, total score 25/35

5th John Marmara 19/25 + 2/5, total score 21/30

6th Stephen Aquilina 15/25, total score 15/25

The top Shooters in their respective classes concluded their three qualification rounds with the following scores;

Class A

1st James Galea Jr. 64/75

2nd George Mifsud 63/75 (Count Back Rule)

3rd Chris Farrugia 63/75


Class B

1st John Marmara 70/75

2nd Rennie Deguara 67/75

3rd Christopher Vella 64/75


Class C

1st George Grech 58/75

2nd Nico Sciberras 53/75

3rd Joe Cardona 51/75


The MSSF Trap Programme will continue on Sunday 30 September 2018 at the Bidnija Shooting Ranges with the Marfel Trophy. 

  • don't miss