The Malta Independent 29 May 2024, Wednesday
View E-Paper

The Netherlands, Slovakia, Malta present Trio EU Presidency declaration on gender equality

Monday, 7 December 2015, 15:43 Last update: about 9 years ago

The Netherlands, Slovakia and Malta, the member states entrusted with the EU Presidency during the 18-month period from January 2016 to July 2017, have presented their declaration on gender equality during the EPSCO Council. 

The document, signed by the responsible minister from each member state, gives an insight into the views and plans of the upcoming presidencies.

In the declaration, it is stated that achieving gender equality is one of the objectives and tasks of the European Union, and that mainstreaming equality between women and men in all its activities represents a general aim of the Union. Equality between women and men is a prerequisite for ensuring growth, prosperity, welfare, and social inclusion.

The declaration focuses on boosting the economic activity of women and their participation in the labour market. Increased employment of women can help to reduce the risk of poverty and social exclusion.

It further states that: the rise in poverty and social exclusion in the aftermath of the crisis has affected both men and women. However, in general, women face a much higher risk of social exclusion and poverty than men. Accordingly, it is essential to work systematically towards ensuring their economic independence.

Accompanying the declaration is a list of concrete activities on gender equality to be carried out in the coming 18 months.

  • don't miss