The Malta Independent 5 March 2021, Friday

Malta one of the 50 countries on Britain’s ‘travel corridor’ list

Giulia Magri Friday, 3 July 2020, 17:15 Last update: about 9 months ago

Malta has been included in Britain's 'travel corridor' list of 50 countries that will be exempt from a 14-day quarantine for incoming travellers.

According to the British government, as of 10 July 2020 passengers arriving from certain countries and territories will not be required to self-isolate on arrival into England. Alongside Malta, there are Greece, New Zealand, Australia, Japan and others.

The list of exemptions would be kept 'under constant review' so that if the situation worsens the government will not hesitate to reintroduce self-isolation requirements.


Yesterday, Malta finally reopened its borders to commercial flights from 21 countries and also the catamaran to Sicily.

It was first highlighted that diplomatic discussions were underway for Malta to be included in the UK travel 'green list' last week and when this newsroom asked Tourism Minister Julia Farrugia Portelli for further updates she said that many British tourists have postponed or kept their bookings to visit the island. "UK tourists are crucial for our list, and we know that many British tourists are also waiting and looking forward to visiting Malta."

Speaking during a BBC interview on Thursday, Farrugia Portelli highlighted that the island is well prepared with all the 'mechanisms' in place, prioritizing travellers arriving in Malta.

  • don't miss