The Malta Independent 11 August 2022, Thursday

Conference League: Late goal denies spirited Maroons

Friday, 22 July 2022, 07:22 Last update: about 20 days ago

Gzira-Radnicki 2-2

A stoppage time goal scored by Gakou denied a spirited Gzira side from a prestigious victory in the UEFA Conference League match yesterday at Ta’ Qali.

Gzira were heading for this victory after a great comeback early in the second half. A comeback which had cancelled Radnicki’s first-half lead.

The result leaves Darren Abdilla’s side in full contention for another European qualification.


The first half was rather balanced with Radnicki breaking the deadlock with a great Stulic goal.

Then in the second half, Gzira bounced back with Maxuell scoring two quick goals to go in front. From then onwards, the Maroons tried to preserve their previous lead, only to be denied in the dying minutes of the match.

The first half was balanced with very few scoring opportunities in the first 30 minutes of the match.

Gzira held their ground even though Radnicki looked to be the better team from the start.

However Gzira had a good attempt from Correia on 23 minutes with the ball sailing over the bar.

Four minutes later Radnicki took the lead when Nikola Stulic first timed beautifully home a cross from the right.

On 33 minutes Petrov had a good run on the left but his effort hit the side netting.

On the resumption Gizra

United staged a remarkable comeback scoring two quick goals in the space of five minutes.

On 56 minutes Maxuell maia pounced on an incredible blunder from the Radnicki goalkeeper to put the ball at the back of the net.

Five minutes later the same Maxuell Maia was quick to anticipate Mladovic who had no option but to floor the Brazilian striker.

From the penalty spot the same Maia sent Drobnjak the wrong way to put the Maroons in front.

From then onwards Gzira tried to control the match with Radnicki forcing for the equaliser. Then on 92 minutes, Radnicki drew level thanks to a Gakou effort.

Gzira U: D. Zarkov, R. Correa, M. Cosic, M. Dias, J. De Assis, M. Maia, G. Bohrer, N. Muscat, L. Riascos, Z. Scerri, L. Tabone.

Radnicki: M. Drobnjak, N. Aksentijevic, L. Arsic, L. Jovanovic, S. Marjanovic, B. Mladovic, A. Pejovic, S. Petrov, M. Savic, N. Stulic, A. Tolordava.

Referee: F. Karako (Hungary)

Photo: Christine Borg

  • don't miss