The Malta Independent 13 June 2024, Thursday
View E-Paper

These are Malta’s six MEPs for the next five years

Sunday, 9 June 2024, 22:23 Last update: about 3 days ago

Malta has voted, and it has elected its six European Parliament representatives for the next five years.

They are split between the Nationalist Party and the Labour Party, who will have three MEPs each representing them in Brussels and Strasbourg.

The official vote tallies were not published until 11pm as per European regulations, but both parties have made it clear who of their candidates were elected.

For the PN, Roberta Metsola, David Casa and Peter Agius have been elected.

Metsola was elected with a record-breaking tally of single-count votes – 87,473. It perhaps comes as no surprise: her stature has only grown in the last two-and-a-half years particularly as she was appointed as European Parliament President.

Peter Agius was the PN’s second candidate to be elected. He received 9,418 first count votes.  He had already tried his luck in 2019, but was not elected as the PN only won two seats, but came up trumps this year as he beat competition from veteran MP David Agius to take the PN’s third seat.

David Casa meanwhile was not the PN’s best performer when it came to first count votes – 5,851 – but made up ground through vote inheritance from Metsola.

This will be his fifth term as an MEP: he was elected in Malta’s first European Parliament elections in 2004 and has been re-elected every time since.

For the PL meanwhile, Alex Agius Saliba, Daniel Attard, and Thomas Bajada have been elected.

Agius Saliba was the only one out of the PL’s four incumbent MEPs who re-contested his seat, and his profile paid dividends with voters as he registered 63,899 first count votes – comfortably enough to be elected on the first count.

Daniel Attard was the PL’s next best performing candidate when it came to first count votes - 11,703, and voter inheritance meant that he was elected.  A lawyer by profession and previously Mtarfa’s mayor, Attard was one of the PL’s new candidates.

Thomas Bajada was the final PL candidate to win a seat, in what may be seen as a surprise given that his colleagues Steve Ellul and Clint Azzopardi Flores appeared to have a higher profile than him. The young Gozitan pipped both of them to be elected into the European Parliament. Bajada received 10,792 first count votes.

He becomes the second Gozitan – after Josianne Cutajar who represented the PL between 2019 and this year – to serve as an MEP.  At age 29, he is also the youngest ever MEP that Malta has elected.

The official results may be found here

  • don't miss