The Malta Independent 24 October 2020, Saturday

Two elderly people become latest victims of Covid-19

Thursday, 24 September 2020, 10:48 Last update: about 29 days ago

Two elderly people have died due to Covid-19, the Health Ministry said in a statement. 

Both were residents in different elderly people's homes. The number of deaths from Covid is now 27.

It is the seventh day in a row that Malta has registered deaths of people related to Covid-19.

The first case was a 91-year-old man who tested positive on 14 September. He remained receiving care until he died late last night.

The second victim was a 73-year-old woman. She tested positive on 15 September, and was receiving care up until she passed away last night.

ADVERTISEMENT

Both victims, the health authorities said, were suffering from other medical conditions.

The Health Ministry appealed for everyone to continue following the health authorities' guidelines, including the washing of hands, social distancing and the use of masks. It sent its condolences to the families of the victims.

Malta's previous deaths from the virus are listed below:

Wednesday 8 April - Woman, 92, Gozo General Hospital

Thursday 9 April - Man, 79, Karin Grech Hospital

Saturday 11 April - Man, 84, Mater Dei Hospital

Saturday 25 April - Woman, 96, Mater Dei Hospital

Tuesday 5 May - Man, 81, Karin Grech Hospital

Wednesday 13 May - Man, 53, Mater Dei Hospital

Wednesday 27 May - Man, 97, Karin Grech Hospital

Friday 29 May - Man, 56, Mater Dei Hospital

Friday 29 May - Man, 68, Mater Dei Hospital

Friday 21 August - Man, 72, Mater Dei Hospital

Saturday 29 August - Woman, 86, Mater Dei Hospital

Sunday 30 August - Man, 86, Mater Dei Hospital

Tuesday 1 September - Man, 89, Mater Dei Hospital

Saturday 5 September - Man, 85, Mater Dei Hospital

Thursday 10 September - Man, 80, Mater Dei Hospital

Monday 14 September - Woman, 86, Mater Dei Hospital

Friday 18 September - Woman, 91, Mater Dei Hospital

Saturday 19 September - Man, 85, Mater Dei Hospital

Saturday 19 September - Woman, 72, Mater Dei Hospital

Saturday 19 September - Woman, 86, Mater Dei Hospital

Sunday 20 September - Man, 86, St. Joseph's Home, Fgura

Monday 21 September - Man, 98, Mater Dei Hospital

Monday 21 September - Man, 83, Mater Dei Hospital

Tuesday 22 September - Man, 86, Mater Dei Hospital

Wednesday 23 September - Man, 84, Mater Dei Hospital

 

  • don't miss