The Malta Independent 23 August 2019, Friday

GSSE 2019, Montenegro: Malta team arrives in Podgorica; Gianluca Chetcuti to carry Malta’s flag

Chris Cassar Monday, 27 May 2019, 00:54 Last update: about 4 months ago
Photo: Malta Olympic Committee
Photo: Malta Olympic Committee

The Malta team arrived in Podgorica on Sunday morning for the 18th edition of the Games of the Small States of Europe. This will be the first time that Montenegro will host these games which started in 1985 in San Marino.

Malta twice hosted these games in 1993 and ten years later in 2003, and is set to organise the 20th edition in 2023. On arrival in Podgorica the Malta contingent led by Malta Chef de Mission Paul Sultana, transferred to the coastal city of Budva where the athletes village is situated.


Budva will also host five of the ten sporting disciplines, namely Shooting, Tennis, Volleyball, Beach Volley, and Bowls. The city of Bar will host Athletics and Basketball, Judo in Cetinje, Table-Tennis in Tivat, and Swimming in the capital Podgorica.

Today the athletes will start their preparations for the competitions which will start tomorrow with the first events. Practically all events start tomorrow except for Bowls and Shooting which start on Wednesday.

The highlight of today's programme will be the Opening Ceremony which will be held this evening at 9pm in the Old Town of Budva. Malta's Flag Bearer at tonight's Opening Ceremony will be shooter Gianluca Chetcuti who was chosen for his star performance in San Marino winning gold in the double trap competition.

This will be the third time that a shooter will be Malta's Flag Bearer with Gianluca Chetcuti following William Chetcuti in 2005 and Eleonor Bezzina in 2015.

The full list of Flag bearers is the below.

1985       Alex Bezzina (Judo)

1987       Chris Cassar Torreggiani (Athletics)

1989       Ray Muscat (Basketball)

1991       Helen Asciak (Tennis)

1997       Jacki Xuereb (Judo)

1999       Laurie Pace (Judo)

2001       Simon Gerada (Table Tennis)

2003       Tanya Blake (Athletics)

2005       William Chetcuti (Shooting)

2007       Angela Galea (Swimming)

2009       Adriana Zammit (Gymnastics)

2011       Brad Hindle Deguara (Squash)

2013       Josephine Grima (Basketball)

2015       Eleonor Bezzina (Shooting)

2017       Charlotte Wingfield (Athletics)

2019       Gianluca Chetcuti (Shooting)     


The Malta team will be aiming to improve on the 29 medals won, four of which gold, in the last edition two years ago in San Marino. Malta's best ever performance was in 2003 when Malta hosted these games, when Malta earned a total of 43 medals, 12 of which gold medals. Malta totally won 385 medals (67 Gold, 127 Silver, and 191 Bronze)

List of medals won

1985    1 (Bronze)

1987    6 (1 Gold)

1989    6 (2 Gold)

1991    7 (1 Gold)

1993    27 (4 Gold)

1995    12 (1 Gold)

1997    26 (5 Gold)

1999    20 (4 Gold)

2001    35 (7 Gold)

2003    43 (12 Gold)

2005    38 (7 Gold)

2007    30 (4 Gold)

2009    21 (3 Gold)

2011    29 (8 Gold)

2013    25 (2 Gold)

2015    31 (4 Gold)

2017    29 (4 Gold) 

  • don't miss