The Malta Independent 21 April 2024, Sunday
View E-Paper

MaltaPost awards employees at annual staff meeting

Monday, 26 February 2024, 16:31 Last update: about 3 months ago

MaltaPost employees were given an update on the company's performance for the previous year by Chairman Joseph Said at the Annual Staff Meeting held recently at the Spinola Suite, Hilton St Julians. Throughout the event, various postal employees were presented with special awards for their positive performance throughout the past year.

The awards form part of a series of motivational incentives that MaltaPost offers to its staff. Performance is monitored on a regular basis and the best achieving employees and teams are awarded accordingly.  Joseph Gafa, CEO of MaltaPost, stated that the company wished to reward those employees whose proactive approach and problem-solving skills contributed to the positive results achieved over the past year. He emphasized that exceptional performance drives results and inspires others to strive for success.

This year, the "Best Operations Unit Award" was won by the St. Paul's Bay Delivery Hub. The "Best Post Office Award" was won by the Sliema Rudolph Street Post Office for the quality of service given to customers and for the upkeep of the branch premises. The "Best Sub-Post Office Award" went to "Aquavel Stationery", located at Għargħur.

There were various nominees for the  "Employee of the Year" prize and this year it was decided to proceed with rewarding two staff members - Diane Balzan, from the Retail Department, and Simon Gaffarena who works in the Central Mail Room. They were rewarded for going the extra mile during their daily duties.

The company "Long-Service Award" was presented to the following employees:

For 10 years' service - Leeann Zahra, Claire Magro, John Christopher Scerri, Jane Sammut;

For 15 years' service - Mario Zammit, Kirsten Portelli, Andrew Vella, Mark Zahra;

For 35 years' service - Rose Abela, John Cremona, Patrick Polidano.

Kimberly Farrugia and Akbarali Palliyali  were presented with the "Altruism Award" for selflessly assisting their colleagues and for effectively engaging with customers.

The "Staff Appreciated By The Public" award was presented to those staff persons who were personally thanked by customers throughout the year for their help and support in solving specific issues. The following is the list of employees:

Matthew Agius, Liliana Azzopardi, Dorianne Azzopardi, David Cachia, Davide Cacia, Celestina Calleja, Luiza Camilleri, Claire Camilleri, Felix Cassar, Denis Fason Cherry, Charmaine Curmi, Shakira Cuyajar Forte, Christopher Delia, Giuseppe D'Onofrio, Josephine Farrugia, Martin Gatt, Kenneth Joseph Maurice, Maria Micallef, Sue Ellen Moran, Jeremy Muscat, Sandy Muscat, Frances Portelli, Caterina Regoli, Georgina Scicluna, Christine Michelle Vella.  

  • don't miss